Is it hard to find work in the Christian Entertainment Industry?

• Is it hard to find work in the Christian Entertainment Industry?

Marty updated 11 months, 1 week ago 2 Members · 5 Posts
  • Marty

April 25, 2020 at 2:46 pm

Also does it matter if your just starting out or a veteran?

• Matthew Allen

May 1, 2020 at 3:41 pm

Thanks very much for that question, Marty, and hi everyone!

I am a Canadian film writer, living on the beautiful east coast, who has been trying to “break into” the American Christian film world for a few years now with little success. Canada is a wonderful place to live, but the film industry is extremely limited, let alone for Christian filmmaking. I graduated college last week with a Marketing Diploma, but feel like filmmaking is not only my passion, but very possibly the calling for my life’s work. Many people, including myself, have prayed about this, and in the meantime I have studied film extensively and honed my writing skills by creating several feature-length scripts, continually improving from one to the next.

For people who are not Americans, and especially for those who are without a great of funds for travel like myself, it is nearly impossible to reach individuals in the Christian film world with the power, position and influence to actually push the process forward unless you know someone who knows someone, etc. (which I don’t)

This is disappointing to me as I feel my only other option to pursue film is from a secular, Hollywood-type starting point, where there are plenty of opportunities to submit screenplays and get in contact with professionals in the field. However, at the exact same time, I see just as many opportunities to get lost in the Wild West of corruption and immorality, both culturally and in the film content itself when one is just starting out.